Skip to content
Connectivity

Which Network Does Your Japan eSIM Use? Docomo, au or SoftBank

Most Japan travel eSIMs resell Docomo, au or SoftBank capacity. Here is how to find the host network before you buy and check it on arrival.

By Japan Travel Dobbo Editorial10 min read
On this page
  1. What does “host network” mean on a Japan travel eSIM?
  2. Docomo, au or SoftBank: how do the three networks compare?
  3. Do underground and rural areas really differ by carrier?
  4. How do you find out which network an eSIM uses before you buy?
  5. How do you check which network your phone is on in Japan?
  6. What can you do if your eSIM lands you on the wrong network?
  7. Where does Rakuten Mobile fit in?
  8. Frequently asked questions
  9. The short version
  10. Sources

Disclosure Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend.

Most travel eSIMs for Japan do not run their own network — they resell capacity from NTT Docomo, KDDI (au) or SoftBank, and the reseller decides which one you get. That choice is the single biggest factor in whether your data holds up outside the big cities, yet many product pages never name the host network at all. This guide shows you how to find the host network before you pay, how to confirm which network your phone actually registered on once you land, and what your options are if you end up on the wrong one.

Japan has three long-established mobile network operators (MNOs) plus Rakuten Mobile, a newer fourth entrant. Everything else you can buy — MVNO SIMs, travel eSIMs, pocket WiFi rentals — ultimately rides on at least one of those networks.

What does “host network” mean on a Japan travel eSIM?

An eSIM provider such as Airalo, Ubigi or a hotel-desk brand is usually not a carrier. It buys wholesale access to Japanese MNOs and issues you a profile that roams onto those networks.

That wholesale layer is large. According to the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC) quarterly contract and share data published on 10 July 2026, covering the position as of 31 March 2026, Japan had 231.42 million mobile subscriptions, and MVNOs collectively accounted for 18.5% of them.

The same MIC release shows how much of the market each MNO group carries once wholesale is counted. Docomo held 32.9% of mobile subscriptions in its own right, or 39.5% including the capacity it wholesales to MVNOs. KDDI Group held 26.2% (31.4% including wholesale), SoftBank 18.7% (24.6%), and Rakuten Mobile 3.6% as an MNO (4.5% including wholesale).

The practical point: when a travel eSIM says “5G in Japan”, it is telling you about someone else’s radio network. Which one matters.

Docomo, au or SoftBank: how do the three networks compare?

Here is an honest limitation up front. The three carriers do not publish directly comparable coverage numbers on their public area pages, so a like-for-like percentage table is not possible from official sources. SoftBank publishes a headline population-coverage figure; Docomo and au, on the coverage pages reviewed for this article, direct you to interactive prefecture-level maps instead.

  NTT Docomo KDDI (au) SoftBank
Share of mobile subscriptions (MIC, as of 31 Mar 2026) 32.9% 26.2% 18.7%
Including capacity wholesaled to MVNOs 39.5% 31.4% 24.6%
Published nationwide 5G population coverage Not stated on its area pages Not stated on its area pages Over 96% as of July 2025
5G spectrum stated 3.7GHz / 4.5GHz (100MHz each) plus 28GHz (400MHz); also reuses existing 4G spectrum Sub6 highlighted at major stations New-frequency high-capacity 5G described as limited areas
Subway detail published Line-by-line 5G list for Tokyo Metro, Toei, Yokohama subways (as of 30 June 2026) Rail and subway 5G line list (as of April 2026) Coverage shown via the service area map
Where to check Prefecture service area map Prefecture maps for 5G / LTE / WiMAX 2+ Service area map

A few details behind that table are worth spelling out, because they change how you should read carrier marketing.

SoftBank states nationwide 5G population coverage of over 96% as of July 2025, but it also explains the measurement: a roughly 500-metre census grid square counts as covered when communication is possible in at least 50% of locations within it. That is a standard industry method, not a promise that every spot inside the square works. SoftBank separately notes that its high-speed, high-capacity 5G on new frequencies is available in limited areas only.

Docomo describes its 5G as using three new bands — 3.7GHz, 4.5GHz and 28GHz — with 100MHz of width each on 3.7GHz and 4.5GHz and 400MHz on 28GHz, while also converting some existing 4G spectrum to 5G to expand the footprint faster. Refarmed 4G spectrum extends the 5G map but does not deliver the same peak speeds as the new bands.

au frames its 5G similarly, flagging Sub6 availability at major stations, and cautions that 5G signals penetrate indoors less well than 4G LTE, so a handset inside a 5G area may still use LTE.

Do underground and rural areas really differ by carrier?

This is where the host network shows up in daily travel, and it is the part product pages rarely address.

Docomo publishes a line-by-line list of subway 5G coverage, current as of 30 June 2026, spanning nine Tokyo Metro lines (Ginza, Marunouchi, Hibiya, Tozai, Chiyoda, Yurakucho, Hanzomon, Namboku and Fukutoshin), four Toei lines (Asakusa, Mita, Shinjuku and Oedo), both Yokohama Municipal Subway lines and the Minatomirai Line. Docomo adds that coverage may still be unavailable in some spots even inside stations.

au publishes its own rail list of 5G-usable lines, dated April 2026, covering major JR routes such as the Yamanote, Chuo, Sobu and Keihin-Tohoku lines, private railways including Keio, Odakyu, Tokyu, Kintetsu, Hanshin, Hankyu and Keisei, and subway sections including the Tokyo Metro Tozai Line and Osaka Metro Midosuji Line. au also warns that a line marked as covered may still be unusable in underground sections and underground parts of stations.

Note that these two lists are dated three months apart and count coverage differently — Docomo’s is a subway-specific page, au’s is a broader rail page — so you should not read the difference in line counts as a ranking. Check the current maps for the specific places you are going.

Docomo’s area section also points to coverage information for mountain trails, subways and public WiFi, and highlights docomo Starlink Direct as available on all its plans at no extra charge and with no application required — a satellite fallback aimed squarely at the areas where terrestrial coverage runs out. au’s area section covers 5G, LTE and WiMAX 2+ by prefecture and links to the roaming area it provides for Rakuten Mobile.

How do you find out which network an eSIM uses before you buy?

Three checks, in order of reliability.

1. Look for a networks field on the product page. Some providers state it plainly. Ubigi’s Japan 10GB plan page names both KDDI and NTT Docomo as the networks used and marks the plan as 5G and 4G; that plan is listed at US$16.50 for 10GB valid 30 days as of August 2026. Airalo’s Japan page displays a primary-network label — showing SoftBank, with a “+1 other” indicator for additional networks — alongside its unlimited packages, priced as of August 2026 at US$11.50 for 3 days, US$17.00 for 5 days, US$27.00 for 7 days, US$34.50 for 10 days, US$48.00 for 15 days and US$69.00 for 30 days.

2. Read the help centre, not just the shop page. Providers often disclose more in support articles than in marketing. Ubigi’s help centre states directly that it works with two telecom partners in Japan, NTT Docomo and KDDI, and goes further: on the KDDI network the antenna pictogram might not appear at the top of your screen because of protocol differences, even though the internet connection works normally. On the Docomo network the pictogram appears as usual. That is exactly the kind of detail that saves you from thinking a working eSIM is broken.

3. If neither page names a network, treat that as information. A provider that will not tell you the host network before purchase is unlikely to tell you afterwards. If rural or mountain coverage matters for your itinerary, prefer a provider that names its partners.

How do you check which network your phone is on in Japan?

Once you land, your handset can tell you which network it registered on.

On iPhone: open Settings, tap General, then About. The carrier settings version appears next to Carrier, and you can tap it for additional carrier information. Apple also notes that when you set up a new eSIM or insert a new SIM, you might need to download carrier settings for the new carrier — worth doing while you still have WiFi.

On Android (Pixel wording): go to Settings, then Network & internet, then SIMs. From there you can pick your network operator from the available networks, set your preferred network type such as 5G or LTE, and control roaming, which lets your phone send data over other carriers’ networks. Menu names vary by manufacturer and Android version.

One caveat: a travel eSIM may display its own brand rather than the host carrier. Ubigi notes its connection is sometimes shown as “Ubigi” on both of its Japanese partner networks, so the name on your status bar is not always the underlying operator.

What can you do if your eSIM lands you on the wrong network?

Your options are limited, and it is better to know that before you rely on a single eSIM.

If your plan includes more than one host network, manual network selection is the lever you have. On Android you can choose an operator from the available networks list in the SIM settings. On iPhone there is no equivalent user-facing operator picker in the standard Cellular settings, so you are largely dependent on what the profile permits.

Editing the APN is not a way to switch networks. Apple states you can only edit or view your APN if your carrier allows it, via Settings > Cellular > Cellular Data Network, or Settings > Mobile Data > Mobile Data Options > Mobile Data Network, and warns that incorrect settings can cost you connectivity. The APN routes your data on whichever network you are already registered to; it does not change the registration.

The realistic fallbacks are structural rather than technical. If your itinerary includes rural Hokkaido, the Japanese Alps, the San’in coast or remote islands, consider carrying a second eSIM on a different host network, or check the specific prefecture maps before you commit. Coverage claims are about probability, not certainty, and no single network is the right answer for every itinerary.

Where does Rakuten Mobile fit in?

Rakuten Mobile is Japan’s fourth MNO and, per the MIC data as of 31 March 2026, held 3.6% of mobile subscriptions as an MNO. Its footprint is supplemented by a roaming arrangement with au, which publishes a dedicated roaming service area for Rakuten Mobile. Travel eSIMs rarely name Rakuten as their host network, so for most visitors the practical choice remains among the three larger networks.

Frequently asked questions

Is Docomo automatically the best network for a Japan trip?
It has the largest subscriber base in the MIC data as of 31 March 2026 and publishes detailed subway and mountain-trail coverage information, which many travellers read as a proxy for reach. But the carriers do not publish comparable nationwide figures, so “largest” is not the same as “best in the place you are going.” Check the prefecture map for your route.

Can I tell the host network from the APN?
Sometimes the APN string hints at the wholesale partner, but it is not a reliable indicator, and Apple notes you may not even be able to view the APN if the carrier does not allow it. The provider’s help centre is a better source.

My eSIM works but shows no signal bars — is it broken?
Not necessarily. Ubigi documents that on the KDDI network the antenna pictogram might not appear because of protocol differences, while data still works. If pages load, the connection is functioning.

Does the host network change what 5G I get?
Yes, in the sense that each carrier deploys 5G differently. Docomo describes dedicated new bands at 3.7GHz, 4.5GHz and 28GHz alongside reused 4G spectrum; SoftBank describes its high-capacity new-frequency 5G as limited to certain areas; au highlights Sub6 at major stations and notes 5G reaches indoors less well than LTE. A “5G” label alone tells you little about speed in a specific spot.

Should I just buy two eSIMs on different networks?
For a city-only trip that is usually unnecessary. For itineraries with significant rural, mountain or island time, a second profile on a different host network is a reasonable redundancy, provided your phone supports multiple eSIMs.

The short version

Find the host network before you buy, using the product page first and the help centre second. Prefer providers that name their Japanese partners. Once you arrive, confirm the registered operator on your handset, and remember that a missing signal icon is not always a missing connection. If your route leaves the main corridors, plan redundancy rather than trusting a single profile.

Sources

Leave a comment